Venus and the Moon

Therese Ralston
3 min readMar 25, 2023

Rainbow and the Roo

I was in the pool at six yesterday as storm clouds gathered, then blew over.

Without any rain, there was still a rainbow. Bright, it even had a deep violet stripe within an arc that was almost a semi-circle.

I splashed about while it beamed into a double rainbow. Climbing out, half-drying myself, I dashed inside to grab the camera. Back out, it had already faded when new clouds drifted over.

Like luck, new love, or a big laugh, rainbows fade.

It’s hard to capture them, and harder to keep them.

Later, I listened to the thunder in a storm that went over the mountains. Once the clouds cleared, I saw the new crescent moon with Venus alongside it. It looked bizarre having both bright sky lights so close to each other.

Rain on the roof woke me this morning. Looking out my bedroom window, I noticed a small, wet, red-necked wallaby nibbling grass.

--

--

Therese Ralston

Writing about the real life, farm life, reading life, birdlife, wildlife, pet life and school life I have in my life. My blog: birdlifesaving.blogspot.com